Skip to content

Spinach, Macadamia Nut and Basil Pesto

October 10, 2013

IMG_9887

I must have done something right with my pesto when I made it last weekend. It was wiped clean from the jar within 12 hours. This pesto expresses an intense, herbaceous aroma with nutty influences. Flavors of black pepper matched the rich, creamy, rustic texture, with hints of salt and garlic. “It was hard to resist downing spoonfuls of this pesto.” Those were words that came out from Julie’s mouth, who devoured my pesto and licked the container clean.

I was entertaining my friend Mesma, a very talented choreographer and radiant dancer from Boston. She is the type of artist that creates an environment out of nothing. She brings characters to life and invites her audiences to enjoy the path of liberation. Watching her move is like watching Giselle. I don’t mean any specific character, but the entire ballet. She is the backdrop. She is the  corps de ballet. She is the scenery, and she is everything you could imagine in Giselle. When Mesma arrived in our apartment, all I could think of was the entire ballet gliding through my living quarters. If you haven’t had a chance to see Mesma perform, then you’ve already missed one of the greatest performers in the world. Her beauty lies in her creativity which is not something I can describe. You will just have to trust me, or see it for yourself.

Unknown

I kept banging my skull for a recipe to match her affable character, and I thought of Pesto, a simple, elegant spread that can be used on anything. Toss it with pasta, spread it on a piece of toast, mix it in with eggs, top it over meatballs and steak or eat it as is. We topped the pesto over my vegetarian meatballs.

Making pesto is one of the simplest pleasures of life. Originating from Northwest Italy, Pesto is made with basil, parsley, pine nuts, garlic and olive oil. If you are feeling audacious, feel free to invent your own by swapping the basil for spinach, kale or any leafy green. Switch the pine nuts with almonds or walnuts.

I used the traditional method using a mortar and pestle to make my pesto, but if time is a factor,  definitely resort to a blender. And, don’t even think of buying store-bought pesto!

Here’s how you do it.

IMG_9880

Makes 1 cup

Ingredients:

1 garlic clove

5 macadamia nuts, toasted or any other nut

3 oz basil, stems removed

3 oz spinach, stems removed

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese, or any other hard cheese

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil

Method:

For Mortar and Pestle

1) Muddle together the garlic and nuts until you form a fine paste.

2) Pour a dash of olive oil to loosen the paste.

3) Tear the green leaves (a few at a time) and continue muddling until the leaves have incorporated with the garlic mixture.

4) Add the cheese and oil.

5) Mix in the salt and mesh.

6) Repeat this process until all the greens and cheese are used.

7) Taste and add more salt, nuts, cheese, or oil as needed.

8) Store in an airtight jar. Pour a little olive oil over the surface.

I placed the container on my kitchen counter for a few hours until I was ready to serve. You can either eat it right away or keep it refrigerated for up to a week. It can also be frozen for up to a month.

If you liked this post, you will also like:

Mesma S. Belsarehttp://www.mesmabelsare.com

two peas & their pod, Pesto Guacamole

Food & WIne, Fresh Asparagus Pesto

FOOD52, How to Make Any Pesto in 5 Steps

Love & Lemons, Lemony Pea Pesto

A Teaspoon of Happiness, Cilantro Pesto

 

7 Comments
  1. Sounds super interesting.. I love your recipe’s.. they always have an interesting twist to it.. Thanks for sharing.. !

    • chefmo73 permalink

      Thanks. I don’t know where these ideas gel from, but the best part of cooking is trial and error. Thanks for stopping by and looking forward to reading yours as well.
      Mo

  2. I have been meaning to make some pesto, but those pine nuts are so damn expensive ( $8/100g). Thanks for sharing this macadamia/other nut version. it is more pocket friendly. I shall definitely be making this. How did the Mediterranean baked chicken go? I went for lunch and took a long break from blogging. I needed a break to do other things. Thanks and have a lovely weekend!
    P/s Mesma does look interesting and now I see why you wanted to make vegetarian meatballs. Hope the dinner was a success? Best wishes!

    • chefmo73 permalink

      pine nuts are very expensive. I don’t think macadamia nuts are any less! Candlenuts are a good substitution as well. Oh! I didn’t make my mediterranean baked chicken. I got carried away with some house work and ended up dining at a restaurant.

      • Ha ha. I did a lot of housework too, yesterday. Trying to clear the garage before the cold sets in. We had a take a away dinner too. After all that shuffling and lifting and vacuuming, nobody wanted to cook. I hope you’ll make the chicken in the near future. Macadamias, are slightly less expensive and I love the crunch…Best wishes!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Thrifty Thursday: $2.76 Chicken, Chickpea, and Pesto Salad | Eating My Feelings

Leave a comment

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

eggton

{salty wit + a sweet tooth}

LondonEats

Adventures in a South London kitchen and musings on all things edible in this great city and beyond

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

Best Movers Companies Toronto

Raising the bar for Home Cooking

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

simplyvegetarian777

Easy & Delicious Vegetarian Recipes

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!

365 Days Later

My path back to fitness on a one year delay.

the hungry mum

Simple ideas for a delicious life. Home baking is my passion.

andmorefood

will travel for food

life's journey

where you finish isn't where you start

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!

blogNAKED

Official blog of NAKEDpizza

shopandcook

Just another WordPress.com site

Adrianfranklinphotography's Blog

Another Adrian Franklin Blog

THE FRENCH COWBOY

PRIVATE CHEF & CATERING IN HOUSTON, TX

The Secret Ingredient

Off the page and into the kitchen wih the celebrity chefs and authors of Morrow Cookbooks

jonatcorton

A year on the Hill of Corton

Kitchen Bound

A slave to the oven and I'm not even married. Just kidding—expect that here plus lots of pie.

The Genuine Kitchen

fresh, simple, pure

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

eggton

{salty wit + a sweet tooth}

LondonEats

Adventures in a South London kitchen and musings on all things edible in this great city and beyond

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

Best Movers Companies Toronto

Raising the bar for Home Cooking

Coconut craze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!

simplyvegetarian777

Easy & Delicious Vegetarian Recipes

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!

365 Days Later

My path back to fitness on a one year delay.

the hungry mum

Simple ideas for a delicious life. Home baking is my passion.

andmorefood

will travel for food

life's journey

where you finish isn't where you start

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!

blogNAKED

Official blog of NAKEDpizza

shopandcook

Just another WordPress.com site

Adrianfranklinphotography's Blog

Another Adrian Franklin Blog

THE FRENCH COWBOY

PRIVATE CHEF & CATERING IN HOUSTON, TX

The Secret Ingredient

Off the page and into the kitchen wih the celebrity chefs and authors of Morrow Cookbooks

jonatcorton

A year on the Hill of Corton

Kitchen Bound

A slave to the oven and I'm not even married. Just kidding—expect that here plus lots of pie.

The Genuine Kitchen

fresh, simple, pure

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

Tamarind and Thyme

Cooking and Eating Well in London Without Going Broke

from the Bartolini kitchens

"Mangia e statti zitto!"

A Life Less Organised

Bristol food guides, events and reviews

the chef mimi blog

so much food, so little time...

Violet's Vegan Comics

Funny, exciting and sometimes action-packed vegan-friendly children's comics, stories, picture books and nursery rhymes, FREE TO READ HERE and available in paperback from our bookshop.

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Keli Paan

Bringing Imagination to your Cooking...!!!

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

trials in food

food, family, work, life and everything in between

FREE Food Truck

Bringing a Food Truck to Life

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

petite but sweet

what life means to me and how food has shaped my experiences as a necessity, hobby, career, and a form of art...from the beginning.

Haven's Kitchen

Raising the bar for Home Cooking